Autumn sky in a Murrayfield area park, Edinburgh

About us

The Murrayfield Community Council area from above
Low resolution map of Community Council area

The Community Council is situated about 2 miles west of Central Edinburgh. The Community Council area is approximately bounded by (from the West, and inclusive):

Murrayfield SPIRE Hospital, The Mary Erskine & Stewart's Melville Junior School, Blinkbonny Crescent, Roseburn Path, Ravelston Dykes, St George's School, the north and west boundaries of the art galleries, the Water of Leith weir at The Cauldron, the west boundary of former Donaldson's School grounds, Wester Coates, Devon Place, and the railway line passing Murrayfield Stadium, Saughtonhall and the Balgreen area, and the east boundary of Carricknowe golf course.

You can check out the boundary in more detail (and all sorts of other things) on the City Council's CC pages here, or the Council Interactive Atlas here.


The objectives of the Community Council are:

  • to ascertain, co-ordinate and reflect the views of the community which it represents, to liaise with other community groups within the area, and to fairly express the diversity of opinions and outlooks of the people;
  • to express the views of the community to the local authority for the area, to public authorities and other organisations;
  • to take such action in the interests of the community as appears to it to be desirable and practicable;
  • to promote the well-being of the community and to foster a community spirit;
  • to be a means whereby the people of the area shall be able to voice their opinions on any matter affecting their lives, their welfare, their environment, its development and amenity.